skip to main content

E-mail Us

Please e-mail us using this form, or you can use this e-mail address: to send e-mail using your own e-mail program.

Your Name:

Your E-mail:



Leave this empty!!! If you see it

Note: All fields on this form are required.

Faculty Senate


Faculty Senate Members


Faculty Senate Committees
Appointed by the Senate



Graduation Review Board
Student Conduct Committee
Scholastic Review Committee
Faculty Excellence Award
Campus Safety Committee

For more committees on campus, click here.

Return to Faculty Senate homepage


Faculty Senate Members

(Terms run Fall through Spring)
Eric Scott: Chair 2017-2019
Erik Baer: Vice Chair 2017-2019
Gayatri Sirohi: Senator-at-Large 2017-2019
Matt Schwisow: Senator-at-Large 2016-2018
Jack Harton: Secretary 2016-2018

Razmehr Fardad: Pure & Applied Sciences: 2017-2019
Amelia Phillips: Pure & Applied Sciences: 2016-2018
Ben Gonzalez: Social Sciences: 2016-2018
Laurie Stusser-McNeil: Social Sciences: 2017-2019
Laurel Lunden: Business:  2017-2019
Michael Girvin: Business: 2016-2018
Darin Smith: Health, Education, & PE: 2016-2018
Sarah Muchnik: Health, Education, & PE: 2017-2019
Stephanie Ojeda Espinoza: Arts & Humanities:2016-2018
Cisco Orozco: Arts & Humanities: 2017-2019

Ex- officio Members

Jeff Wagnitz: HCC Vice President for Academics
Jack Bermingham: HCC President
Ay Saechao: Designee for Jack Berminham



return to top of this page

Faculty Senate Committee Membership

Professional Rights and Responsibilities

Comprised of all current Senators, convened on an ad hoc basis


Advisory Committee on Curriculum

No standing membership. Staffed on an ad hoc basis


Scholastic Review Committee -- The Scholastic Review Committee meets during the first week of each academic quarter to hear reinstatement appeals of students suspended from HCC for lack of academic achievement. To learn more about this committee read this description.

Position Representative Term (3 years)
1. Counseling Gloria Rose Koepping Winter 2016 through Fall 2018
2. Mathematics Aaron Warnock (Chair) Winter 2015 through Fall 2017
3.Reading Lijun Shen Winter 2017 through Fall 2019
 4. Writing Wendy Swyt (finishing term) Winter 2015 through Fall 2017
5. Business Division LeAnn Blanco Winter 2015 through Fall 2017
 6.Health, Ed, and PE Division Cory Martin Winter 2016 through Fall 2018
7. At-large MIchele Manber Winter 2017 through Fall 2019
8. At-large Lonnie Somer Winter 2016 through Fall 2018
9. Administration Jennifer Scanlon ongoing

return to top of this page

Commencement Committee -- The Commencement Committee meets monthly. The committee is responsible for planning the events surrounding graduation and communicating these plans to the campus. The faculty members elected to the Commencement Committee will be responsible for soliciting faculty suggestions, concerns, and other feedback regarding the commencement ceremony and bringing those to the committee.  They will also provide reports on changes to the commencement that are relevant to faculty.  In addition, both elected faculty members will serve during the ceremony as marshals and/or in other capacities that the commencement committee may need.

Melissa Moehlig Seat 1 F2016 through S2018
Darryl Harris Seat 2 F2017 through S2019


return to top of this page

  Graduation Review Board-- The Graduation Review Board meets about once a quarter to hear student appeals concerning the degree granting process. The board makes recommendations to the office of Vice President for Students.. More information ......

Tarisa Matsumoto-Maxfield Seat 1 F2016 through S2018
Karen Fernandez Seat 2 F2017 through S2019
Chris Gan Seat 3 F2017 through S2019

return to top of this page

Faculty Excellence Award Committee- The Faculty Excellence Award committee consists of the director of the Highline Fund Development, the Vice President of Academic Affairs, and three faculty members. Once a year the committee considers applications for the award. Details about the award are available in the HCEA contract, section 614 . 3 year terms.

Razmehr Fardad Seat 1 F2016 through S2019
Jack Harton Seat 2 F2015 through S2018
Christie Knighton Seat 3 F2017 through S2020


Student Conduct Committee -- for a full description of this committee read the Washington Academic Code.
 WAC 1321-120-435

Chris Gan Seat 1 F2017 through S2019
Razmehr Fardad Seat 2 F2016 through S2018


Campus Safety Committee -- for a full description, contact Sue Williamson.

Shon Meckfessel Seat 1 F2017 through S2018
Chris Gan Seat 2 F2017 through S2018


Click here for a list of other campus committees that faculty serve on.


return to top of this page